head to head

Website audit tools, compared: how fast you reach a first report

Ahrefs and SE Ranking gate a first audit behind an account. Go Voltic and Semrush's free checker don't. Observed on all four providers' public pages, 2026-09-02.

Go Voltic · published

A small-business owner who searches how much does a website audit cost meets more than one option. Semrush, Ahrefs and SE Ranking all show up in that search, alongside Go Voltic. This piece reads each provider's own public pages, dated 2026-09-02, and compares what a visitor actually meets: the promise on the landing page, the clicks to a first report, what that report contains, and what it costs.

Nothing here comes from scanning any of these companies' own sites. It comes from reading their marketing, pricing and help pages the way a buyer would, on the date named, with the source page attached to every claim that names one of them.

Go Voltic and Semrush's free checker ask for one field; Ahrefs and SE Ranking ask for an account

Go Voltic's free scan takes one field, the site's URL, and one click. No email, no account. A score and three findings appear in under a minute; the pricing page says the scan "opens 3 findings and tells you how many it is holding back" (go-voltic.com/cost, observed 2026-09-02), and the scan page itself names what stays out of reach: a full page-by-page walkthrough, mobile tap-target measurements, real browser load timing, and a developer handoff sheet, all reserved for the Deep Scan (go-voltic.com/scan, observed 2026-09-02).

Semrush's free SEO checker works the same way for a single check: type a domain, click Analyze Website. We ran it signed out on example.com and a result came back without an account: a score out of 100, a count of critical and minor issues, and a capabilities table that says the free checker analyzes 1 page with basic checks while the paid Site Audit covers 100 pages and 140+ checks. The page caps the free check at one a day, with a counter beside the button (semrush.com/siteaudit/, observed 2026-09-02).

Ahrefs Webmaster Tools opens with "Sign up for free," and its own help pages describe adding a verification method (a Google Search Console connection, an uploaded HTML file, a DNS record, or a meta tag) as step two of setting up a new project (ahrefs.com/webmaster-tools; help.ahrefs.com/articles/4321336-what-is-a-verified-project, both observed 2026-09-02). Whether that step can be skipped before a first audit runs is not stated on the pages read for this piece.

SE Ranking's Website Audit tool runs on a 14-day free trial that its own page says needs no credit card. It does need an account before a first audit runs; the pages read for this piece did not show the signup form, so the exact fields it asks for are not reported here (seranking.com/website-audit.html, observed 2026-09-02).

The landing pages promise different things in the first sentence

Go Voltic's home page opens with "Find where your site leaks customers. Sixty seconds from now, you'll know" (go-voltic.com, observed 2026-09-02). It names a business problem and a time, not a product category.

Semrush's page opens with "Run an SEO audit of your website in seconds. Find technical and on-page SEO issues across your site and get a clear report with what to fix first" (semrush.com/siteaudit/, observed 2026-09-02). It names the product category before the outcome.

Ahrefs Webmaster Tools opens with "Free website analytics, technical audit & SEO metrics for your verified websites" (ahrefs.com/webmaster-tools, observed 2026-09-02). Three category nouns in one sentence, aimed at a reader who already knows what each one means.

SE Ranking opens with "Use our powerful site audit tool to review any website's technical health in minutes" (seranking.com/website-audit.html, observed 2026-09-02). Powerful is the one word among these four headlines that describes the tool rather than what the reader gets.

The main menu runs from four items to eleven

Go Voltic's top navigation lists four items: What we measure, Pricing, Sample reports, and Account, next to a single "Run a free scan" button (go-voltic.com, observed 2026-09-02).

SE Ranking's top navigation lists six: Solutions, Tools, Resources, Pricing, API & MCP, and Products, with Tools expanding into a further submenu of named tools (seranking.com/website-audit.html, observed 2026-09-02).

Semrush's top navigation lists five: Product, Pricing, Solutions, Resources, and Enterprise, each with its own dropdown covering discovery, content, tracking and company information (semrush.com/siteaudit/, observed 2026-09-02).

Ahrefs Webmaster Tools' host site lists eleven: Search Marketing, Website Performance, Content Marketing, Reporting, Local SEO, Use Cases, Ahrefs AI, Resources, Free Tools, Pricing, and Enterprise (ahrefs.com/webmaster-tools, observed 2026-09-02). A visitor who wants the one free tool has to find it inside a menu built for the whole product suite.

What lands on the first screen differs more than the score does

Go Voltic's free result shows a 0-100 score, five category scores, a list of what already checks out, and three unlocked findings; the pricing page states that the scan "tells you how many it is holding back" beyond those three (go-voltic.com/cost, observed 2026-09-02).

Semrush's report shows a score, a prioritized to-do list, and a pass/fail breakdown across meta tags, headings, keywords, backlinks, page speed, mobile-friendliness, Core Web Vitals and social signals (semrush.com/siteaudit/, observed 2026-09-02). More categories than Go Voltic's free scan shows in one look, at the cost of a daily limit rather than a findings limit.

Ahrefs Webmaster Tools' report leads with traffic sources, a health score, ranked keywords and a backlink overview, with SEO issues sorted into more than 170 categories (ahrefs.com/webmaster-tools, observed 2026-09-02). It reads like a tool built for someone who already tracks keyword rankings, not someone asking what is wrong with my site.

SE Ranking's report leads with a health score, issues grouped by type and priority, a page-health ratio, and its top five critical issues highlighted first with color-coded severity (seranking.com/website-audit.html, observed 2026-09-02). Of the three rivals, it reads closest to a ranked fix list.

Every price is public; the free tiers are not equally free

All four publish prices without requiring a login. Go Voltic lists $0 for the free scan, $99 one-off for the Deep Scan, $149 one-off for Head-to-Head, $299 one-off for the AI Visibility Report, and $49 a month for Pulse (go-voltic.com/cost, observed 2026-09-02).

Semrush's cheapest paid plan lists at $139 a month, or $117.33 billed annually (semrush.com/prices/, observed 2026-09-02). SE Ranking's cheapest plan lists at $129 a month, or $103.20 billed annually (seranking.com/pricing.html, observed 2026-09-02). Ahrefs' paid plans start at $129 a month, with a genuinely free tier and a $29-a-month Starter plan beneath that (ahrefs.com/pricing, observed 2026-09-02). Of the three rivals, Ahrefs is the only one with a paid entry point below its main plan.

On refunds: SE Ranking states its terms directly, "payments are non-refundable, except in cases where the service wasn't delivered as promised" (seranking.com/pricing.html, observed 2026-09-02). Semrush's pricing page lists a refund-policy question in its FAQ; the answer was not visible in what this piece could read from that page, so it is not repeated here. Ahrefs' pricing page, as read, states no refund terms. Go Voltic's terms commit to fixing a report first and refunding where a fix isn't the right answer, plus a stated refund if a purchased report is not delivered within five business days (go-voltic.com/legal, observed 2026-09-02).

On who is behind the business: Go Voltic's about page names its founder, Shaun Adams, and says he builds and maintains the scanner (go-voltic.com/about, observed 2026-09-02). Semrush, Ahrefs and SE Ranking each name a corporate entity in their footers or legal pages; none of the pages read for this piece named an individual founder. Semrush and SE Ranking both display social proof on the same page as the audit tool: "Trusted by the world's leading brands" with partner logos, and "Trusted by 40,000+ agencies" with named customer testimonials (semrush.com/siteaudit/; seranking.com/website-audit.html, both observed 2026-09-02). Go Voltic's pages, as read, carry no equivalent banner.

Mobile experience is the one dimension this piece could not check

The rubric asks for mobile experience where it can be judged from public pages. It could not be judged here. Every page in this piece was read as fetched text, not rendered in a phone-width viewport, so nothing about tap targets, layout or load feel on a phone is reported for any of the four. SE Ranking's own page describes a separate mobile dashboard view; that is a claim on their page, not an observation of a phone screen. The honest answer for all four is: not checked.

Where Go Voltic gives up ground

Three places, read plainly. Semrush's single free check shows more finding categories in one look than Go Voltic's free scan does: Go Voltic caps its free tier at three unlocked findings, while Semrush's free checker shows its full category list for the one page it reads, and its own table says that page is the whole of the free audit.

Go Voltic's AI Visibility Pulse is not offered until after a customer has already bought the AI Visibility Report, and it does not appear on the home pricing page (go-voltic.com/cost, observed 2026-09-02). Ahrefs and SE Ranking both fold ongoing monitoring into a single subscription tier without that sequencing.

None of Go Voltic's pages read for this piece carry a named customer testimonial, a partner-logo row, or a public user count, the kind of social proof Semrush and SE Ranking both show beside their audit tool.

The matrix, dimension by dimension

Five dimensions, scored 1 to 5, the observation behind every number already named above. Same order throughout: Go Voltic, Semrush, Ahrefs Webmaster Tools, SE Ranking.

Path to a first report:

  1. Go Voltic scores 5 out of 5: one field, one click, no account.
  2. Semrush's free checker scores 4: one field, one click, and a result without an account when we tried it, though the free check reads one page and is capped at once a day.
  3. Ahrefs Webmaster Tools scores 2: account signup is required, and a verification step is presented at setup.
  4. SE Ranking scores 2: account signup is required for the 14-day trial, even though no card is asked for.

Landing-page clarity:

  1. Go Voltic scores 5: the headline leads with a customer problem and a time.
  2. Semrush scores 4: the headline names the audit category, then the outcome, in one sentence.
  3. Ahrefs Webmaster Tools scores 3: the headline packs three category nouns into one sentence, aimed at a reader who already knows the terms.
  4. SE Ranking scores 3: the headline leads with "powerful," a description of the tool rather than the reader's outcome.

Main navigation:

  1. Go Voltic scores 5: four top-level items and one CTA.
  2. SE Ranking scores 3: six top-level items.
  3. Semrush scores 2: five top-level items, each opening a deep dropdown.
  4. Ahrefs Webmaster Tools scores 2: eleven top-level items, with the free tool sitting as one entry among many.

First-report contents for a non-technical owner:

  1. Go Voltic scores 4: a score, five category scores, and three findings shown in full, with the rest named but not detailed.
  2. Semrush scores 3: a score and a wide pass/fail list spanning eight technical categories.
  3. Ahrefs Webmaster Tools scores 3: traffic, keywords and backlinks come first, reading like a tool built for someone who already tracks rankings.
  4. SE Ranking scores 4: a score, priority-sorted issues, and its top five critical issues highlighted first.

Trust signals, meaning price visible, refund stated, someone named:

  1. Go Voltic scores 5: every price is listed, a refund condition is stated, and a founder is named.
  2. Semrush scores 3: every price is listed, but its refund FAQ entry has an answer this piece could not read, and no individual is named.
  3. Ahrefs Webmaster Tools scores 3: every price is listed, no refund terms were found on the pages read, and no individual is named.
  4. SE Ranking scores 4: every price is listed, a narrow but explicit refund condition is stated, and no individual is named.

Mobile experience was not checked for any of the four from the pages read, so it is not scored here.

Sources

  1. Go Voltic pricing. Go Voltic, read 2026-09-02
  2. Go Voltic home page. Go Voltic, read 2026-09-02
  3. Go Voltic free scan. Go Voltic, read 2026-09-02
  4. Go Voltic legal terms. Go Voltic, read 2026-09-02
  5. Go Voltic, about. Go Voltic, read 2026-09-02
  6. Free SEO Checker (Semrush Site Audit). Semrush, read 2026-09-02
  7. Semrush pricing. Semrush, read 2026-09-02
  8. Ahrefs Webmaster Tools. Ahrefs, read 2026-09-02
  9. Ahrefs pricing. Ahrefs, read 2026-09-02
  10. What is a verified project. Ahrefs Help Center, read 2026-09-02
  11. Website Audit Tool. SE Ranking, read 2026-09-02
  12. SE Ranking pricing. SE Ranking, read 2026-09-02

Run a free Instant Scan on your own site · More from the Newsroom